• IS-806: Emergency Support Function (ESF) #6 - FEMA Test Answers Official Site

IS-806: Emergency Support Function (ESF) #6


This study guide includes all correct answers for IS-806: Emergency Support Function (ESF) #6

Course Overview

The National Response Framework (NRF) presents the guiding principles that enable all response partners to prepare for and provide a unified national response to disasters and emergencies – from the smallest incident to the largest catastrophe. As part of the NRF, Emergency Support Functions (ESFs) are primary mechanisms at the operational level used to organize and provide assistance. This series of courses provides an overview of each of the 14 ESFs. This course introduces Emergency Support Function (ESF) #6 – Mass Care, Emergency Assistance, Housing, and Human Services.

Course Objectives:

At the end of this course, students will be able to:

  • Describe the overall purpose and scope of ESF #6.
  • Identify the types of supplemental assistance ESF #6 provides to individuals and State, tribal, and local governments.
  • Identify typical activities accomplished by ESF #6 resources and teams.
  • Describe the types of partnerships formed between ESF #6 and other response agencies and organizations.

Primary Audience

This course is intended for government executives, private-sector and nongovernmental organization (NGO) leaders, and emergency management practitioners. This includes senior elected and appointed leaders, such as Federal department or agency heads, State Governors, mayors, tribal leaders, and city or county officials – those who have a responsibility to provide for effective response.


IS-800, National Response Framework, An Introduction (note: IS-800, IS-800a or IS-800b are acceptable).